Dog ACL Surgery: Daisy Is Stitch Free!

Beagle Tracks -default_2_edited-1July 2nd, 2011: Man today was a very long day! The first thing this morning my husband and I took Daisy to the vet. She was so excited and nervous she shook the entire way there. She did great, even though sitting wasn’t the first thing she wanted to do.

Once we got in to see the doctor Daisy was quickly swept away to have her stitches removed and to get her Companion Therapy Laser treatment. When she returned I was shocked be the look of her leg. I swear if her leg wasn’t shaved you wouldn’t know she had surgery. I’m so excited about that, I was really afraid she was have a terrible scar. While we were their the doctor noted that Daisy is once again 49 lbs 6 oz, that to me is good news, but they aren’t so happy. The doctor recommended that we do a thyroid test to rule that out as a possible cause for her weight issues. I felt so guilty, I cried. I really don’t know what else I can do to speed up her weight loss. She isn’t over eating and I’m not allowed to let her exercise. I see 49 lbs as progress, I mean she is down a total of 15 lbs since October, but I guess they don’t look at over all weight loss. The results of her thyroid test will  be back in about two weeks and then we will know what to do next.

As for her ACL recovery, she is doing great. They doctor was very pleased with the amount of weight she is putting on her leg. The doctor prescribed Daisy more medications. She is to take  Tramadol and Novox two times daily, along with her cosequin DS and fish oil once daily. Daisy has an appointment for another Companion Therapy Laser treatment and check up in two weeks, until then she is to remain on bed rest.

Here are some photos from day 17.

Click the photos for an enlarged view.

Daisy's ACL incision Day 17 (2)Daisy ACL Incision stitch free (1)That’s all for now. Check back tomorrow for more updates. Also, be sure to check out the updated cost of Daisy’s recovery HERE.

Daisy’s Momma

2 thoughts on “Dog ACL Surgery: Daisy Is Stitch Free!

  1. I ave a Begle also his name is Twix and we just love him! We are terrified about the surgery, can you please tell me if is really as painful as people describe? My husband and I work and really don’t have a person to be with him all day after the operation how was that?

    Thank you so very much!
    Ingrid Twix mom

    • Hello Ingrid,

      As I’m sure you know dog don’t show pain as easily humans do. However, I can tell you that it was hard for me to control Daisy following the surgery. After the first few days she wanted to what she normally does (running around the house and such). While I have no doubt that this surgery is very painful, dogs are very resilient, so with proper care Twix will be just fine.

      As for leaving him home alone — You are going to have to get a dog create and create him while he’s alone during the day. He will have a least 6-8 weeks where he isn’t allowed to walk around freely because he will destroy what the surgery repaired. I was lucky in that I was able to be at home with Daisy through her entire recovery, so I’m not sure what it’s like to leave them alone. You should have a lengthy talk with your veterinarian about the after care for Twix.

      I wish you and Twix all the best.

Leave a comment