Dog ACL Surgery: The Days Are Slipping Away

Beagle Tracks -default_2_edited-1July 21st – 23rd, 2011: Keeping up with this blog, my other work, and Daisy is becoming a huge chore. Starting a new career while your dog is recovering from ACL surgery isn’t the best idea.

Over the last few days Daisy has been fine, in fact, she’s been great. Minus her limp you wouldn’t know that anything is wrong with her. I can’t keep her sitting anymore. That has always been an issue, except now instead of standing she’s getting down and wandering off. I truly can not wait until she is fully recovered. I pray that we never have to do this again. The thought of the recovery was overwhelming before I knew what was ahead of me, and now that I know what’s in store, I’m truly afraid. I should say it’s not the most terrible thing in the world, it’s just draining.

Anyway here are photos from day 36-38.

Click each photo for an enlarged view.

Daisy's ACL Scar day 36Daisy's ACL Scar day 36-1

Daisy's ACL Scar day 37

Daisy's ACL Scar day 38

That’s all for now. Be sure to check back for another update soon.

One thought on “Dog ACL Surgery: The Days Are Slipping Away

  1. Agreed! I too pray I never have to go thru this again. I will NOT let my dog go thru it either.
    Buddy was diagnose with both legs having “Luxating Patella” and “ACL”. Upon surgery on just his left leg (which was the worst) he only had “ACL”. Thank God, but still words can’t even express how horrible you feel when you see your dog in that much pain.

    After this recovery I ruled out surgery again on his right leg. If he needs to be confide in a doggy stroller for now on, so be it. As long as he can walk normally and be in no more pain, that’s what counts. Right now, he is so miserable and I can’t help but not cry and think I caused him to feel this way. Hoping my road to the 8-10 week recovery is as remarkable as Daisy.

Leave a comment