Dog ACL Surgery: Same Old Same

Beagle Tracks -default_2_edited-1July 17th and 18th, 2011: Hello again, and welcome back to Beagle Tracks. Today I’m going to update you on the past two days of Daisy’s recovery.

Much like my last update there isn’t much to tell. Daisy is doing great. Her scar is slowly being hidden by her hair. She does still have a limp, and I’m not sure if she will ever be limp free at this point. I still have hopes that the limp will fade in this last 4 weeks. It’s truly hard to believe that we are only half way though this journey, it seems like it has been months at this point.

Both Daisy and I can’t wait for the day that we are allowed to take walks again. I actually miss our 5am trips outside to potty. She is so tired of being on this bed that she sneaks off every chance she gets and at this point I can’t blame her. She spends most of her time sleeping, I did get her to play on the 18th for a little while, which was nice to see. Just 4 more weeks to go.

Here are photos from day 32 and 33:

Click each photo for an enlarged view.

Daisy's ACL Scar day 32Daisy's ACL Scar day 33

Just a quick note:

This isn’t really Daisy related, but is about ACL injuries. I’ve recently been published on Yahoo!. You may be asking yourself what does that mean? Simply put Yahoo! has purchased the rights to displaying some of my articles on their websites. I thought I would share those that revolve around this issue with you all. If you have time and are interested, have a look.

ACL Injury in Dogs — What You Can Expect from Diagnosis to Surgery

What to Expect After Your Dog’s ACL Surgery 

Home Care Tips After Dog ACL Surgery 

2 thoughts on “Dog ACL Surgery: Same Old Same

  1. Hi Threesia, I want to thank you for all your information. If you wouldn’t mind answering me a question … If you had it to all do over again, would you do the surgery? Would you try joint medication for 6-8 weeks to see if that helped before? My beagle is 3 years old and tore her ACL. Our family is trying to search for what is best for our dog.

    • Hello Rae,

      I’m more than happy to answer any and all questions you may have. To answer your current question, I’ll say this.

      Even knowing what I know now, I wouldn’t do anything differently. I remember watching Daisy limp around in pain before her surgery, it was awful. The surgery and recovery is painful for your dog, and the recovery is a trying time for everyone, but the end result for us has been positive. Though Daisy does still have a limp, I can tell that she feels better than she has in a long time. That for me is all that matters.

      We know that there is a chance that Daisy could re-injure this knee, or injure the other at any time, and even though I’m not looking forward to it, I’m fully prepared to go through this process again.

      If you are unsure about what is best for you and your dog, I suggest you have a talk with your veterinarian. Explain your worries, and see if he/she can offer you some helpful advice.

      Only you know what is best for your dog, but your dog is young and will surely bounce back from the surgery easily.

Leave a comment